RAILROADS

Dumont was named for Charles Dumont an early French settler. A lumbering camp, cattle shipping point and Burlington RailRoad spur. Now nothing remains but the Michelson Trail passes through the area.

Repass was a stop on the Black Hills & Fort Pierre narrow-gauge line between Este and Piedmont. (Black Hills Ghost Town: Parker) Little evidence remains.

A station on the Black Hills & Fort Pierre narrow-gauge railroad was called Apex. (Black Hills Ghost Town: Parker) Little evidence remains.

Fish and Hunter was a Deadwood mercantile outfit siding, just West of the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy tracks. (Black Hills Ghost Towns: Parker)

In the summer of 1891 the railroads brought their first train into town, the Elkhorn whistling in first and the Burlington coming about a month later. The two corporations had been bitter rivals during the buildings of their extensions into the Hills but once they reached the limpid water of Fall River, the peaceful waters influenced them and they united amicably to build a common passenger depot, “The smallest union station in the world,” is the Hot Springs 1891 Union Depot.

Englewood became a railroad center with the construction of the Spearfish branch leading from there in 1893. The narrow gauge Black Hills and Fort Pierre line just north of Englewood was constructed in the mid-1880s.

Carwye was a railroad and lumbering town on the Black Hills & Fort Pierre. It was at the end of the line and a “Y” was installed to turn the trains around. No evidence remains.
(BLACK HILLS GHOST TOWNS:PARKER)

Argyle is named for an early settler to the area. No physical evidence remains, except the site rests next to the Mickelson Trail (the old Burlington tracks). Now visitors can hike a trail made from the railroad bed.

error: Content is protected !!